UAF National conference – Saturday 21 February

Congress Centre, TUC,Great Russell Street, London


9am onwards: Registration

10.20–11.30am: Choice of the following four sessions

a) Mobilising against the far right and fascist street movements across Europe

Chair: Hugh Lanning Vice Chair UAF; Christine Bucholz MP
Die Linke (Germany); Martin Lynch Black Country UAF; Petros Constantinou KEERFA; Sabby Dhalu UAF

b) War, Torture and Islamophobia – Defend Civil Liberties

Chair: Judith Orr Officer, Stop the War; Speakers: Lindsey GermanConvenor Stop the War; Mohammed Kozbar VP Muslim Association of Britain; Victoria Brittain Writer and journalist; Hamja Ahsan Free Talha Ahsan Campaign; Louise Christian Human Rights Lawyer

c) Opposing Austerity, racism and scapegoating immigrants

Chair: Aaron Kiely NUS NEC; Speakers: Sam Fairbairn People’s Assembly Against Austerity; Mick Burke Economist; Eileen ShortDefend Council Housing

d) Never again – 70th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz

Chair: Weyman Bennett UAF; Speakers: Gerry Gable EditorSearchlight; Collette Levi Hidden child refugee from Vichy France

11.30–11.45am: Break

1–2pm: Lunch

2–3.30pm: Choice of the following four sessions

e) Black lives matter: campaigning against institutional racism

Chair: Brian Richardson UAF; Janet Alder Justice for Christopher Alder; Marcia Rigg Sean Rigg Justice and Change Campaign; Maz Saleem Justice for Mohammed Saleem

f) Keep racism out of the general election – no scapegoating immigrants

Chair: Wilf Sullivan TUC; Zita Holbourne PCS NEC & BARAC; Saira Grant Joint Council for the Welfare of Immigrants, Don Flynn Migrant Rights Network; Sabby Dhalu Stand up to Racism

g) Stand up to UKIP

Chair: Denis Fernando Rainbow Coalition Against Racism; Steve HartUnite the Union; Representative of Alliance Against Romanian and Bulgarian Discrimination; Jo Cardwell Stand up to UKIP

h) Je ne suis pas Charlie: incitement of hatred is not freedom of speech

Chair: Alan Gibson NUJ; N’Della Paye (France); Azad Ali MEND;Jude Woodward UAF

3.30-4.45pm: Plenary

Celebrate diversity: stand up to racism

Chair: Jennifer Moses Vice Chair UAF

Diane Abbott MP; Emily Thornberry MP; Ken Livingstone;Sharar Ali Deputy Leader Green Party; Lutfur Rahman Mayor of Tower Hamlets; Petros Constintinou KEERFA (Greece); Simon Woolley OBV; Lee Jasper BARAC

Book online at the UAF website

FREE Places for first 50 students! Email with your name and college (first come first served)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in In the Community, Reps. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.